This article explains how to upload files in Backstage.
3 readers recommend this article
Customers with an active subscription have the option to upload files to their support tickets.
Files uploaded to a ticket will be writable by all subscription admins and readable by all subscription members.
File metadata (description, tags, permissions) can be edited after a file has been uploaded by any user with write permissions to the file. The file's content can be updated, that is, a new file can be uploaded in its place, and it can also be deleted.
When a file's content is updated, the old versions are kept. When a file is deleted, all versions of its content are removed from the storage service, but the file's metadata is kept (and becomes hidden by default).
Our storage system for file uploads is based on Google's Cloud Storage service, which imposes a 5GB limitation on maximum file size per upload operation. Files larger than 5GB will need to be split and uploaded in single parts. We also clean up unused large files regularly.
Uploading Files for Tickets
Files can be uploaded to support tickets on the New Ticket page when the ticket is opened, as well as on the Tickets page after the ticket has been opened.
When you open a new ticket, scroll to the File Attachments section and upload your file to the required storage region:
On an existing ticket, the option to upload files is available on the Attachments tab after the details of any existing attachments.
When uploading files to a ticket, you can choose to link the lifecycle of the files to that of the ticket. This means that these files will be automatically deleted when the ticket's status changes to "closed" (14 days after it has been submitted as "solved").
To link the lifecycle of the attachment to the ticket, enable the Auto-deletion disabled option under the storage region selection (the option name changes once it is enabled):
The default behavior is to keep files for 6 months after the linked tickets are closed (that is, not link their lifecycles to the ticket).
Cloud Storage Service
Backstage cloud storage is based on Google's Cloud Storage service. Files are stored in regions (the storage region can be selected from a dropdown). The upload limit per file is 5GB.
When a file is uploaded, its metadata is stored in Backstage and the file is transferred directly to Google's Cloud Storage API.
All file transfers use SSL for encrypting the payload, and all files are also encrypted at rest with a random key.
Files can only be accessed with a signed URL (which is provided by Backstage). In order to get a signed URL for a file, the user must have an active session and permission to access the file. These permissions can be configured by the owner of the file (the admins of the subscription and the user who uploaded the file, as long as they are a member of the subscription).
ForgeRock has a global service, which means that these files may be accessed in any country where ForgeRock operates. By uploading a file to Backstage, you guarantee that the file does not contain any information that has any limitations as to where it can be accessed geographically.
To access files shared with your subscription (either by your team members or ForgeRock support), go to Subscription Files:
Select your subscription from the list to see all files shared with that subscription:
Uploading Files in Cloud Storage
To upload a file for a subscription in Backstage Cloud Storage, scroll to the Upload section on the Subscription Files page and select a storage region (the choice of region is entirely up to you, but you may be required to upload files to a specific region depending on your organization's circumstances and local laws).
You can also set tags – these tags will be applied to all files you upload. You can edit the tags after uploading a file as well. Once you selected a region, you can drag and drop files to upload them or click the Select files button. Your upload will begin immediately.
Do not refresh the page until the file is fully uploaded.
Editing the File Metadata
Once a file is uploaded, you can edit its metadata in the details dialog box. If you have write access to a file, you can change the description, the tags and the permissions of the file.