upgrade

upgrade — upgrade OpenDJ configuration and application data

Synopsis

upgrade {options}

Description

Upgrades OpenDJ configuration and application data so that it is compatible with the installed binaries.

This tool should be run immediately after upgrading the OpenDJ binaries and before restarting the server.

this tool does not provide backup or restore capabilities. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the OpenDJ administrator to take necessary precautions before performing the upgrade.

This utility performs only part of the upgrade process, which includes the following phases for a single server:

  1. Get and unpack a newer version of the software.

  2. Stop the current server.

  3. Overwrite existing binary and script files with those of the newer version, and then run this utility before restarting the server.

  4. Start the upgraded server.

This utility does not back up your data before you upgrade, nor does it restore your data if the utility fails . In order to revert a failed upgrade, make sure you back up directory data before you overwrite existing binary and script files.

By default this utility requests confirmation before making important configuration changes. You can use the --no-prompt option to run the command non-interactively.

When using the --no-prompt option, if this utility cannot complete because it requires confirmation for a potentially very long or critical task, then it exits with an error and a message about how to finish making the changes. You can add the --force option to force a non-interactive upgrade to continue in this case, also performing long running and critical tasks.

After upgrading, see the resulting upgrade.log file for a full list of operations performed.

Options

The upgrade command takes the following options:

Command options:

--acceptLicense

Automatically accepts the product license (if present). Default: false

--dataOnly

Upgrades only application data. OpenDJ configuration must have been upgraded before. Default: false

--force

Forces a non-interactive upgrade to continue even if it requires user interaction. In particular, long running or critical upgrade tasks, such as re-indexing, which require user confirmation will be performed automatically. This option may only be used with the 'no-prompt' option. Default: false

--ignoreErrors

Ignores any errors which occur during the upgrade. This option should be used with caution and may be useful in automated deployments where potential errors are known in advance and resolved after the upgrade has completed. Default: false

Utility input/output options:

-n | --no-prompt

Use non-interactive mode. If data in the command is missing, the user is not prompted and the tool will fail. Default: false

-Q | --quiet

Use quiet mode. Default: false

-v | --verbose

Use verbose mode. Default: false

General options:

-V | --version

Display Directory Server version information. Default: false

-H | --help

Display this usage information. Default: false

Exit Codes

0

The command completed successfully.

2

The command was run in non-interactive mode, but could not complete because confirmation was required to run a long or critical task. See the error message or the log for details.

other

An error occurred.