DS 7.4.1

Disable replication

Disable replication temporarily

Do not allow modifications on the replica for which replication is temporarily stopped. No record of such changes is kept, and the changes cause replication to diverge.

Follow these steps to disable replication temporarily for a replica and drop any changes that occur:

  1. Prevent changes to the affected data.

    For details, refer to Read-only replicas.

  2. Disable the replication mechanism:

    $ dsconfig \
     set-synchronization-provider-prop \
     --provider-name "Multimaster Synchronization" \
     --set enabled:false \
     --hostname replica.example.com \
     --port 4444 \
     --bindDN uid=admin \
     --bindPassword password \
     --usePkcs12TrustStore /path/to/opendj/config/keystore \
     --trustStorePassword:file /path/to/opendj/config/keystore.pin \
     --no-prompt
  3. Perform whatever operations are required.

  4. Enable the replication mechanism again:

    $ dsconfig \
     set-synchronization-provider-prop \
     --provider-name "Multimaster Synchronization" \
     --set enabled:true \
     --hostname replica.example.com \
     --port 4444 \
     --bindDN uid=admin \
     --bindPassword password \
     --usePkcs12TrustStore /path/to/opendj/config/keystore \
     --trustStorePassword:file /path/to/opendj/config/keystore.pin \
     --no-prompt
  5. Allow changes to the affected data.

    For details, refer to Read-only replicas.

Before removing a server from a group of replicated servers, disable replication as described. When the server you remove is a bootstrap replication server, also remove it from the configuration on all other servers.

Stop replicating permanently

You might remove a server from a replication topology because:

  • The DS server is no longer needed.

    For example, you are scaling a deployment down, or retiring an old server that you replaced with a newer one.

  • Someone configured replication between DS servers that should be independent.

    For example, at setup time, replication was configured to include all six replicas in three data centers, but the expected configuration was three separate directory service deployments with two replicas in each data center.

    In this case, you must permanently change which servers replicate with each other.

The steps that follow only apply to deployments of DS 7 and later servers.

If you are upgrading from older servers and have a mix of DS 7 and earlier servers, refer to the Upgrade documentation instead.

To remove a server that is no longer needed:

  1. Uninstall the server.

    For details, refer to Uninstallation.

  2. If the server is referenced in other servers' bootstrap-replication-server settings, remove it.

    For details, refer to Remove a bootstrap replication server.

  3. The automated purge process eventually removes historical data and changelog data for old servers.

    You can optionally trigger a purge task manually, as described in Manual purge.

To change which servers replicate with each other:

  1. Prevent changes to the affected data.

    For details, refer to Read-only replicas.

  2. Perform these steps in parallel on all affected servers:

    1. Disable the replication mechanism.

      For details, refer to Disable replication temporarily.

    2. Adjust the bootstrap-replication-server settings to limit replication as desired.

    3. Enable the replication mechanism again.

    4. Restart the server for the changes to take effect.

  3. Allow changes to the affected data.

  4. Delete entries that were erroneously replicated.

    For details, refer to Delete entries.

  5. The automated purge process eventually removes historical data and changelog data for old servers.

    You can optionally trigger a purge task manually, as described in Manual purge.

Copyright © 2010-2024 ForgeRock, all rights reserved.